News Feed

MD and DC Election Results - Quick look

Mon, Nov 10, 2014

Washington, District Of Columbia

It’s Over...and the 2016 election cycle begins!

Below is a quick look at Maryland and DC election results, with a few final race numbers still pending.  On the Congressional level there were no changes (to date) to our delegation.  The biggest surprise in MD and one of the most unexpected results as viewed nationally was the win of Republican Larry Hogan over Lt. Gov. Anthony Brown. 

Additionally, on Wednesday, CUNA President/CEO Jim Nussle discussed on a system-wide post-election briefing some overall national results affecting our industry:

  • This year's midterm election saw credit unions support 396 candidates in Senate and House races, with only one candidate per race getting support.
  • In House races, credit union-supported candidates saw a 92% success rate, with 336 of the 367 candidates emerging victorious. Of the balance, 15 candidates were unsuccessful -- and a number of other races are still awaiting final resolution.
  • Of the 29 Senate candidates supported by credit unions Tuesday, 25 were victorious. Two candidates lost, and races in Virginia and Alaska are still up in the air. Four candidates were supported with a partisan communication or independent expenditure in addition to a campaign contribution -- two of those candidates won.

Maryland Congressional Races:
All eight members (7-D , 1-R) of the MD delegation won re-election by very comfortable margins with the exception of freshman Rep. John Delaney.

  • Delaney’s race against Republican John Bongino was very close (49.6 – 48.4%). While Delaney has declared victory (by 2,166 votes), Bongino will wait for the final count of absentee ballots (count of 6,396 ballots begins Thurs., Nov. 6 and is expected to last into the weekend) before deciding his next move and a winner is declared.

Maryland State Races:

Governor:  Republican Larry Hogan defeated Democratic Lt. Governor Brown by a 51.6 – 47 margin.

  • Hogan won by significant and historic margins in the Baltimore suburbs, Southern & Western Maryland and the Eastern Shore, which Brown could not make up in Montgomery and Prince George’s. The race was one of the surprise upsets nationally.

Comptroller:  Democratic incumbent  Peter Franchot was easily re-elected 62-38 for his third term.

Attorney General:  By a 55-41 margin, Democratic State Senator Brian Frosh easily won the open seat left by Doug Gansler.

Senate:  Two (2) Republican pickups.  Democrats maintain a 33-14 majority.

  • 6th District – Johnny Ray Salling defeated Delegate John Olszewski (Baltimore County) in the Norman Stone open seat.
  • 29th District – In a rematch of the 2010 squeaker, Steve Waugh defeated Senator Roy Dyson (St. Mary’s) - EHEA Vice Chairman

House:  Republicans pickup seven (7) seats.  Democrats maintain a 91-50 majority.

Democratic Incumbents who lost:

  • Appropriations Chairman Norm Conway (Lower Shore)
  • David Rudolph (Cecil) – Vice Chair Economic Matters
  • John Bohanan (St. Mary’s) – Appropriations
  • John Donoghue (Hagerstown) - HGO
  • Kevin Kelly (Western MD) – Judiciary
  • Mike Weir (Baltimore County) – Environmental Matters
  • In addition to Weir, Republicans won the two other open seats in Baltimore County’s 6th District, completing the district sweep. 
  • Democrats have picked up a seat in the Anne Arundel’s 31st District with a win by Ned Carey in an open seat.

County Races – Races that flipped control:

  • Republican State Senator Alan Kittleman is the new Howard County Executive.  Republican pick-up.  Democrats appear to have a 5-1 council majority.
  • Democrat Jan Garner is the first Frederick County Executive. GOP should have a council majority.

Other notable races:

  • Republican Delegate Steve Shuh will be the Anne Arundel County Executive. GOP will hold the Executive and will maintain a 4-3 council advantage.

You may also check the MD state website for more detail:

DC - District of Columbia:

Congressional: Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton easily won re-election with more than 84% of the vote.

Mayor: Muriel Bowser won her bid for Mayor against independent David Catania by a margin of 55-36.

DC City Council: Voters elected three new members to the D.C. Council to the 13-member body, with a fourth coming within months.

  • The shakeup comes after Jim Graham (D-Ward 1) lost his bid for a fifth term in the Democratic primary, and after David Catania (I-At Large) and Tommy Wells (D-Ward 6) passed up reelection bids to seek the mayoralty. Bowser’s ascension to the mayor’s office creates a vacancy for the Ward 4 seat that will be filled in a special election next year.

For more information please contact: Glen Cooney, VP, Advocacy & Legislative Affairs / / 443-325-0775