News Feed

2016 Maxwell, Herring, Desjardins National CUNA Award Winners Announced

Wed, Dec 14, 2016

Madison, Wisconsin

CUNA’s National Awards Committee recently selected the recipients of the 2016 Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award, the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award, and the Desjardins Awards for Financial Education.  The awards, which are given in several credit union asset sizes, were selected among the winning entries at a league level.

First-place winners for the Dora Maxwell Award include:

  • Community Credit Union                                                         Lewiston, ME
  • United Credit Union                                                                Mexico, MO
  • San Mateo Credit Union                                                           Redwood City, CA
  • Hanscom Federal Credit Union                                                  Hanscom AFB, MA

 First-place winners for the Louise Herring Award include:

  • Nueva Esperanza Community Credit Union                          Toledo, OH
  • Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union                      Gray, TN
  • Educational Systems Federal Credit Union                           Greenbelt, MD
  • Associated Credit Union                                                  Norcross, GA

 First-place winners for the Desjardins Youth Financial Education Award include:

  • Community Credit Union                                                             Lewiston, ME
  • CORE Federal Credit Union                                                          East Syracuse, NY
  • DOCO Credit Union                                                                    Albany, GA
  • CommonWealth One Federal Credit Union                                       Alexandria, VA
  • Altra Federal Credit Union                                                           Onalaska, WI

 First-place winners for the Desjardins Adult Financial Education Award include:

  • Community Credit Union                                                            Lewiston, ME
  • Carolina Foothills Federal Credit Union                                          Spartanburg, SC
  • Financial Center First Credit Union                                               Indianapolis, IN
  • Firefly Credit Union                                                                  Burnsville, MN
  • Rocky Mountain Chapter of Credit Unions                                       Colorado


*The Maine Credit Union League also received a first place award for their efforts to improve financial literacy for both youth and adults.

“On behalf of the CUNA Awards Committee, I would like to congratulate all of the 2016 CUNA Award winners,” said Winona Nava, CUNA Awards Committee Chair. “We had an impressive number of submissions this year and the quality of the program submissions once again impressed the committee with the ideas and projects credit unions have put in place in their communities. Please join the committee in congratulating this year’s winners and remember: It’s never too early to start thinking about submitting your own entry for 2017.”

Winning credit unions will be recognized at the 2017 CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference, held February 26 – March 2, in Washington, DC.  If you or your credit union is in interested in submitting awards for 2017 – please visit to learn more.