Skip to content

Voters Head to the Polls Today for DC Primary

DC voters will decide the Democratic nominee for president, along with nominees for council seats and non-voting members of Congress.

DC Council seats for Wards 2, 4, 7, and 8 are up for election, along with one of the city’s four at-large seats. In Ward 2, Democrat and incumbent Brooke Pinto is running unopposed. The Ward 7 seat is open as current Council member Vincent Gray is not seeking reelection, drawing a crowded field of 10 Democratic candidates.

In Ward 4, incumbent Janeese Lewis George faces two challengers, and in Ward 8, Council member Trayon White Sr. also has two challengers. At-large Council Member Robert White is up against one Democratic opponent.

The winners of these races will advance to the general election, where the Democratic candidates are expected to win in the predominantly Democratic District.

DC Democrats will also choose their presidential nominee, although President Joe Biden is the presumed candidate.

Eleanor Holmes Norton, who has served as D.C.’s delegate since 1991, is also running for reelection.

DC’s Republican presidential primary was held in March. GOP candidates for local races are on the ballot today. Polls close tonight at 8 pm.

Join Our Mailing List

Keep up with the latest industry info, advocacy updates, member spotlights and upcoming events.