Skip to content

Maryland Voters Choose Candidates

The most closely watched race in Maryland’s primary election was for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by the retirement of Ben Cardin.

Prince George’s County Executive Angela Alsobrooks won the Democratic primary following a highly contested and costly race with Rep. David Trone. She is set to go head-to-head with Republican former Governor Larry Hogan in the general election. The outcome of the race could determine which party gains control of the U.S. Senate and carries historic significance. Alsobrooks could become Maryland’s first Black woman senator, while Hogan could become the state’s first Republican senator in four decades.

District 2
In District 2, Democrats chose Baltimore County Executive John “Johnny O” Olszewski Jr. in the primary. He will face Republican Kim Klacik.

District 3
Maryland State Senator Sarah K. Elfreth won the Democratic primary to succeed retiring Rep. John Sarbanes in the 3rd Congressional District. Elfreth defeated former Capitol Police officer Harry Dunn in a crowded field of 22 candidates. Republican Rob Steinberger, an attorney and businessman, won the GOP primary.

District 6
Democrat April McClain Delaney, a former official in the Biden administration, will be on the November ballot in the race for Maryland’s 6th Congressional District. She will face former state delegate Neil Parrott who secured the Republican nomination to replace Rep. David Trone who ran for the U.S. Senate.

Join Our Mailing List

Keep up with the latest industry info, advocacy updates, member spotlights and upcoming events.