Skip to content

Educational Systems FCU Announces 2023 Scholarship and Professional Development Award Winners

This year, $90,000 was awarded to 25 students and 15 educators to help continue their education.

The scholarships and awards are made possible through the Support Education Foundation, which was started by the Credit Union to provide funding and resources to help the education community.
“It is an incredible honor to be selected as a recipient of the Community College Scholarship,” stated Jalynn Somerville, a student at the College of Southern Maryland. “This scholarship will undoubtedly alleviate a significant financial burden and enable me to focus on my academic pursuits, extracurricular activities and personal growth during my studies.”

“For us, it’s an honor to Support Education,” said Girado Smith, Educational Systems FCU President and CEO. “We are committed to helping future generations achieve academic success by providing resources to continue learning and growing. Congratulations to all of the recipients of the scholarships and professional development awards!”

$3,000 Dorothy Marvil Scholarship:

  • Eian Manalo, Anne Arundel County
  • Sasha Barley, Calvert County
  • Joanna Schoonover, Caroline County
  • Kate Bright, Charles County
  • Aidan O’Connor, Frederick County
  • Susan Kuhn, Howard County
  • Marley Pinsky, Montgomery County
  • Lakayla Chapman, Prince George’s County
  • Luke Shaffer, St. Mary’s County
  • Kylie Weems, Talbot County

$3,000 Rosemary Brinkley Business and Finance Scholarship:

  • Cameron Travis, Anne Arundel County
  • Yudith Torres, Calvert County
  • T’Isiah Batson, Caroline County
  • Griffin Fitzpatrick, Charles County
  • Maegan Long, Frederick County
  • David Liu, Howard County
  • Arman Rezaie, Montgomery County
  • Amber Ware, Prince George’s County
  • Kanye McMahon, St. Mary’s County
  • Kai Kelly, Talbot County

$3,000 Community College Scholarships:

  • Jalynn Somerville, College of Southern Maryland
  • Judith Hoza, Frederick Community College
  • Daniela Bendezu, Howard Community College
  • Sara Simmons, Montgomery College
  • Bethelihm Berihun, Prince George’s Community College

$1,000 Maurice Erly Professional Development Awards:
K-12 Educators 

  • Ann Autry, Anne Arundel County
  • William Colley, Calvert County
  • Amy Bauman, Caroline County
  • Dianne Sumler, Charles County
  • Lauren Graziano, Frederick County
  • Morgan Gralla, Howard County
  • Laura Ellis, Montgomery County
  • Sonja Oakcrum-Hale, Prince George’s County
  • Edward Williams, St. Mary’s County
  • Leslie Jefferson, Talbot County

Community College Educators 

  • Tracy Hamm-Simmons, College of Southern Maryland
  • Sunday Onagbiye, Frederick Community College
  • Karla Hercules, Howard Community College
  • Surayya Johnson, Montgomery College
  • Stacey Holloway, Prince George’s Community College

The 2024 scholarship and professional development awards application period opens January 2, 2024.  For more information, visit

Recent News

Join Our Mailing List

Keep up with the latest industry info, advocacy updates, member spotlights and upcoming events.