Skip to content

AACUC’s Sattiewhite Named Winner of Inaugural Changemaker Award

The CU Leadership Convention announced the winner of the inaugural Neoteric Changemaker Award. The national award recognizes one individual who has demonstrated personal perseverance, advanced the cause of “people, helping, people,” advocated for relevant ideation, and created positive programming for leaders.

The unique name of the award was selected because it represents the literal meaning of the word neoteric: A modern person who advocates for new ideas.

Why now? Why this award? “Modernizing the social impact of the credit union industry is vital to sustainability and to robust connection with future generations,“ noted Susan Mitchell, Chair of the Neoteric Changemaker Award Governance Committee. “We must urgently pursue ways to revitalize our cooperative vision to what is relevant in today’s society and only aspirational leadership can do it.”

Renee Sattie White

All those serving on the inaugural award committee passionately agreed Renée Sattiewhite has enhanced the credit union movement, emphasized the critical need for diversity, pioneered allyship and relentlessly advocated for all humans. She speaks for equity. She challenges those who step away. She also has shown that it takes bravery and some personal risk when advocating for change knowing that if one stands alone, eventually others will join her.

“The award will be presented to Renée Sattiewhite at the 46th CU Leadership Convention, July 27, 2023, at Caesars Palace, Las Vegas,” stated Dennis Sullivan, Committee Member and Chair of the CU Leadership Convention. “The creation of the award is to honor an individual who has overcome tremendous challenges to create change in the credit union movement and was very clear that the first award should go to Renée as she is the definition of changemaker. There are few people who have done so much for the industry and made DEI a rallying cry for all credit unions nationwide.” Additional inaugural members serving on the committee in the formation of the award and determination of this year’s winner include:

• John Bratsakis, MD|DC Credit Union Association
• Pablo DeFilippi, Inclusiv
• Michelle Nearon. Senior Associate Dean, Yale University
• John Cassidy, TruStage
• Merry Pateuk, PSCU
• Emma Hayes, SECU
• John Bissell, CEO Greylock & AACUC Board Director

The Neoteric Changemaker Award will be presented each year at the CU Leadership Convention and is open to anyone within the credit union movement who advocates for new ideas. The process for nominations for the 2024 Neoteric Changemaker Award will begin to be announced immediately following the award presentation at the 46th CU Leadership Convention, July 27. Register here and join us!

Join Our Mailing List

Keep up with the latest industry info, advocacy updates, member spotlights and upcoming events.