Skip to content

Four Area Credit Union Leaders Inducted into 2023 AACUC Hall of Fame

For the first time, the annual ceremony was held at the National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington, DC.

AACUC Hall of Fame Inductees 2023

Seven credit union leaders were honored by the African-American Credit Union Coalition (AACUC) for their distinguished contributions to the credit union movement, including four honorees from DC-based credit unions affiliated with the MD|DC Credit Union Association.

Those four inductees are:

• Timothy L. Anderson, President/CEO, United States Senate FCU
• Carla Decker, COO, IDB Global FCU
• Melinda Edmunds, President/CEO, Patent and Trademark Office FCU
• Michael Ray, Vice President of Business Development, PAHO/WHO FCU

“The African American Credit Union Hall of Fame is a prestigious recognition in our credit union movement because it honors those who have committed their years of service to advance financial services and access to financial capital for people of color,” said Renée Sattiewhite, AACUC President/CEO.

“Congratulations to all the honorees,” said John Bratsakis, President/CEO of the MD|DC Credit Union Association. “They have been instrumental in driving change and have made a tremendous impact on the members and communities they serve.”

The other Inductees included:
• Todd Harper, Chairman, NCUA
• Lois Kitsch, Co-Founder, CU Difference
• George Ombado, Executive Director, African Confederation of Co-operative Saving and Credit Association

Rep. Maxine Waters, ranking member of the House Financial Services Committee, helped kickoff the induction ceremony congratulating the honorees and recognizing AACUC’s leadership on moving credit unions toward greater diversity, equity and inclusion.

Join Our Mailing List

Keep up with the latest industry info, advocacy updates, member spotlights and upcoming events.